Alex Hartly big winner at British Open

Alex Hartley was the big winner at the British Open beating Jeremy Krystyniak in the final. Hartley beat junior Kashdan-Brown (one for the future), Stuart Hobden (avenging British Closed loss) and Tom Whitehouse on his way to the final. Krystyniak knocked out Lesser, Mckee and Wallace on his way to the final. Hartley showed his win over Jermaine Manners in May was no fluke and he has cemented his place in England Captain Stuart Foster's thoughts for next year's world team champs in Bulgaria. Congratulations to other winners - Andrew Fletcher (Veterans), Steve Appleton (Mens B) and Paul Collins (Mens C).

Full Results are available on

Youtube already online on


Rakesh Gupta happy

Tournament Organiser Rakesh Gupta (see pic) will be happy with the 3rd UK Ranking event (and 1st World Ranking event) to be held at Virgin Active, Croydon. The entry was quite good at 51 and there is room for improvement in future years. This is particularly in Ladies and Juniors which we had to cancel because of a poor entry. There were 2 entrants from abroad from Germany, which is not many, but equally not unexpected with the great selection of racketlon events now around the world and even another challenger on the same day in Gothenburg. Sweden which attracted a class field. For future years, foreign players can be aware the venue is particularly convenient for London Gatwick Airport.


English Racketlon Association

We also recently had  the English Racketlon AGM. The election and re-election is below so racketlon in England is looking good and gaining momentum with some fresh faces.

English Racketlon Association – Executive Board and Sub-Committees

President – Stuart Foster

Chairman – Ray Jordan

Vice Chairman – Richard Lawrence

Treasurer – Keith Lesser

Events Officer – Dominique Ford, Sub-Committee & Event Organisers - Richard Lawrence, Keith Lesser, Rakesh Gupta, Duncan Marlow, Andrew Hopwood, Siraz Natha, Phil Todd, John Garland, Stuart Hobden, Daniel Woodley, Dianne Baker.

IT & Operations Officer – Richard Lawrence. Deputy – Hassan Kayani

Rankings Officer – Stuart Hobden. Deputy – Richard Boreham

North of England Development Officers – Siraz Natha & Phil Todd

Community Funding Officers – Siraz Natha & Laurel Bennett

Marketing Officers – Darren Vickery & Duncan Stahl

Sponsorship Officers – Stuart Foster & Rakesh Gupta

Sport England & Recognition Officer – Julian Kashdan-Brown

Clubs & Counties Officer – John Garland

FIR Council Representation – Gary Tovey

Report: Keith Lesser