Record Prize Money at Vienna Classics

Lukas Windischberger (Fotocredit RFA: podium with Busby and Dickert) and Christine Seehofer defend their titles at 8th Vienna New Year Classics from 5th to 7th January in Austria. The best players in the FIR World Rankings also win the mixed doubles together and Lukas even takes men doubles with Michi Dickert. The only elite title not won by Austria, goes to Germany with women doubles by Svenja Kleb and Ann-Katrin Pfeifer. Total prize money at this International World Tour event sponsored by ASKÖ Wien and VICTOR Austria was raised to a record of 1300 Euro with all double winners included. In total 124 players from 15 countries were responsible for 184 entries in no less than 20 draws. All winners on


First titles for Korer, Harca, Strecha and Afghanistan

The first titles in World Tour history were won by Ersoy Korer in Seniors +40 doubles together with Marcel Weigl and for Afghanistan by the refugees Zabi Arabzada and Reza Mohammadi in juniors u21 doubles. Three more gold medals went to Germany thanks to Paul Sach, Markus Kugel/Ottmar Neidhardt and Ann-Kathrin Pfeifer in Men, Men Doubles and Women B. Peter Sakovics was responsible for two victories for Hungary in Seniors +50 and Mixed B – Amateur Doubles with his daughter Virag. Seniors +45 was won by Swedish legend Rickard Persson. All the other titles stayed in Austria. Juniors u13 and Seniors +40 in the Wagner family by Alexander and his father Tom. Seniors +55 to old star Michael Tesar. Juniors u16 gold medal and Men E First Timer went to newcomers Florian Harca and Nikolaus Strecha.

Apart from the head referee Michael Steiner 4 approved referees were on the centre courts (one in each sport), during the whole weekend doing an excellent job refereeing, counting and typing in the total scores on TV monitors for the spectators.

You can photos taken at the tournament here!

Thank you to all the helpers, sponsors and players to make this tournament such a success and see you back at the Super World Tour event Austrian Open – World Tour Finals from 23rd to 25th November 2018 in Austria.


RFA-Executive President
Marcel Weigl